Konami has officially updated the rules in the TCG (both NA and EU) to comply with the April 1st, 2020 revision to the OCG Rules. While these rules have more-or-less been soft implemented in Konami events (and OCG-based games like Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links) for some time, this just standardizes rulings across regions so theres no longer any questions. For a refresher, these changes are as follows:

  1. Fusion, Synchro, and Xyz Monsters can be first Summoned from the Extra Deck to any of your Main Monster Zones. They do not have to be Summoned to the Extra Monster Zone or a spot that a Link Monster is pointing to. You can still Summon a Fusion/Synchro/Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck to your Extra Monster Zone if you want to, though. (The restrictions requiring an Extra Monster Zone or Link Monster pointing still apply to Link Monsters and Pendulum Monsters that are Summoned from the Extra Deck.)
  • This is mainly the official implementation of "Master Rule 5", which exempts Synchro, Xyz, and Fusion monsters from the Extra Monster Zone summoning requirements first introduced with "Master Rule 4".
  1. If a monster's Trigger Effect meets its activation conditions, BUT hasn’t yet had a chance to actually activate yet (because it’s still in the middle of a chain or card effect, for example) and is therefore being “saved for later”, BUT its location* changes between the time its Trigger Effect activation is met, and the time it actually has a chance to activate, its effect does not activate. [*On the field, in the Graveyard, in the hand, banished, or in the Deck.]
  • The most common example that can be observed from this ruling is if a card like Loading... was Tributed as cost by a card like Loading... , and then Loading... banishes that Benten from the Graveyard before it has a chance to activate, Benten will no longer be able to activate its effect. (This change has already been implemented in Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links, as can be observed by the interaction between Loading... detatching Loading... CL1, Loading... CL2 on Infantry)
  1. The restriction of “you cannot Normal or Special Summon the turn you activate this card” only refers to monsters that were successfully summoned. Same for “you can only Special Summon X once per turn” restrictions.
  • This essentially removes the notion of "Attempted Summons" from the game. For example, if the Summon of Loading... was negated with a Loading... , you would still be able to properly Special Summon another Kagari.
  1. Trap Monsters that say “This card is also still a Trap.” do not occupy both a Monster Zone and a Spell & Trap Zone. They are only in the Monster Zone (where the card actually is) and do not take up a Spell & Trap Zone.
  • Prior to this ruling, Trap Monsters (that are are still treated as Trap Cards) like Loading... would have occupied BOTH a Monster Zone and a Spell / Trap Zone. Now, they only occupy a Monster Zone while face-up on the field (and, if for example they were flipped face-down with Loading... they would be re-set in the Spell/Trap Card Zone [provided there is an available Zone])

Page 51 of the rulebook, under “Leaves the Field”: “When a monster on the field is shuffled into the Main Deck, or becomes an Xyz Material, it is no longer a card on the field, however its effects that activate when it “leaves the field” will not activate.” “Main Deck” should be “Deck” (and therefore also includes the Extra Deck).

  • This mainly concerns Extra Deck monsters like Loading... who now no longer gain its "leaves the field" effect when shuffled back into the Extra Deck

What do you think of these rule changes? Let us know in the comments below!